Love this post

walksonstilts

The rats. They’re up to no good.
In the ceiling, above my head.
They stand between me and the sky

And the rats
They’re just looking for a meal
And I’m just looking for a bed
And the rats are just looking for a place to call home
And we’re the same, we’re the same for that

Think I’ll name them
Name them by the sound of their footfalls
Name them
Like you might name a dog
Name them, like the hills that we call our homeland
Name them
Like the stars we will never ever touch

And the rats ask who’s to say what is good
And the rats ask who’s to say what is fair
And the rats ask, why would you bother sleeping
When the night, the night is so young

I turn, I turn on my pillow
On my mattress, dragged half across the floor
Maybe…

View original post 33 more words

